NEA Awards Opportunities

National Heritage Fellowships:
Deadline: Submit nominations by Aug. 3, 2017
Know a special individual working in the folk and traditional arts who deserves national recognition? The recent issue of NEA Arts Magazine celebrates the 35th anniversary of the NEA National Heritage Fellowships and Jazz Masters, both of which were created in 1982.
Our nation’s highest honor for folk and traditional arts practitioners or advocates, these fellowships recognize lifetime achievement, artistic excellence, and contributions to our nation’s traditional arts heritage. You can browse the more than 400 past Fellows or make a nomination on the NEA website. Questions? Contact Folk & Traditional Arts Specialist Cheryl Schiele at
First Peoples Fund Community Spirit Awards: 
Deadline: Submit nominations by July 31, 2017
With the Community Spirit Awards, The First Peoples Fund honors and celebrates exceptional American Indian, Alaskan Native, and Native Hawaiian artists for their commitment to sustaining the cultural values of Native people.